I’m at the six month marker. Six months ago today I had my thyroid removed.

It’s been three months since I had I-131 therapy.

So how am I doing?

My new doc says I’m doing fine.

He’s more patient than I am.

He’s weaned me off three medications my old doc had me on that weren’t necessary. That would be why she isn’t my doc anymore.

I can tell a difference – but it isn’t going quickly enough to suit me, of course.

My resistance is still shot. I have another nasty cold.

My salivary glands are experiencing some swelling that comes and goes, so when it comes, I go back to massaging them and sucking lemon drops.Β  Is that permanent? I don’t know. I know it’s a result of the I-131 therapy.

My voice still sounds like I have a cold, even when I don’t, so I am assuming that’s as good as it’s going to get. I am extremely fortunate. As big as glandzilla was, I might have lost my ability to speak altogether. My vocal cords were stretched – but not broken.

So sorry, all you ex husbands… πŸ˜›

My mouth? Let’s not even go there. Things weren’t great in that department before all this, and now it’s just intolerable. This illness and the treatments prescribed for it will mess your mouth/teeth/smile up big time in record time – and Blue Cross doesn’t care. They haven’t had to mess with me before now, though.

I feel like I’m in the fight of my life regaining my health, my energy, my old body back…

But I’m up for it πŸ˜‰

It’s also six months since I stopped smoking. I had my last one the night before my surgery.

I’m sure I feel better because of that, but with all else that’s gone on, I’m not sure what benefit it’s given me.

As soon as my surgery was done, the wheezing and coughing stopped – all signs of an enlarged thyroid – that I had chalked up to smoking and thought “Yeah, I guess I really need to quit one of these days…”

Since I stopped smoking the same time I had my thyroid removed, I guess I’ll never know how much was thyroid and how much was smoking.

I guess it doesn’t really matter?

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving.

I have a lot to be grateful and thankful for.

I survived a very tricky surgery that I highly suspect not even my kick butt surgeon thought I would survive.

I am rid of a gland gone out of control that was literally killing me.

I have my parathyroid glands intact so that I don’t have problems with my calcium levels as well.

My cancer has not spread. The radiation oncologist told me that whatever cancer might remain, it is confined to my neck, and the thyroid cells left behind post-surgery are dutifully absorbing the I-131 isotopes, which should make them die.

I still have to remind myself all the time that there are never any absolute, final answers.

But I still claim survivorhood.

I have a wonderful support network of family and friends all of whom I love so very much. You all know who you are – and if you don’t, you should.

So…

Have a Happy Thanksgiving, y’all. I know I will. Just the fact that I am still here is enough for me, for today.

That doesn’t mean I don’t have a mile long wish list for Santa though!

